listen – laugh – love

A little taste of my Social Media love…

Once Upon A Story…

on August 25, 2013

As a former employee at a major theme park, there is nothing like watching a group of people turn into a bigger group of people simply because there was a group of people already there. Let me explain: by coincidence a group of people find themselves standing in, what appears to be, a queue line. This coincidence gathers the attention of passersby that jump in “line,” because surely this group of people isn’t standing in a line to nowhere. Right? Wrong. Of course, in the end, everyone realizes there’s nothing at the end of this “line” and they leave, muttering about all of the time they have lost. In terms of social media, gathering group attention can work in the same way…Influence is a huge factor in gaining new presence, as well as securing an already well-known social presence. The key is keeping that presence and not having consumers walk away “muttering about all of the time they have lost.”

Speaking of this major theme park, storytelling is a large part of the culture and heritage of this particular company. It’s hard to think of a person who doesn’t love a good story or at least appreciates great storytelling. It makes sense that a storytelling approach would fit perfectly in the realm of social media. As both a consumer and creator of social media, a storytelling approach helps to craft a personal attachment that generic approaches could only dream of doing. Why do you think that storytelling is such an incredible approach to gaining buy-in and creating personal relationships with consumers? The human factor weighs heavily and it’s thrilling to see companies using their social media accounts to relate to their consumers on a personal level. Social media allows companies to connect to their audiences, showcase their individual personalities, listen to their consumers, and acknowledge their followers. As a consumer, this is the best way to convince me that I should buy into whatever you are throwing my way!

Personally, it’s exciting to know that companies are moving away from the traditional one-page summary of a resume and are looking for more of a “full story”. It’s refreshing to see that companies are drawn towards socially-savvy and creative methods of hiring. As a society, we are now so much more than a piece of white paper. I’m all for companies viewing my Facebook or Twitter accounts to get a better idea of who I am and what I’m looking for in a job search. My social media sites give a much better representation of who I am than a simple resume ever could. Why do you think that this an effective approach to hiring (or not)? If Elle Woods could get accepted into Harvard Law School with this (awesome) video resume, the sky is the limit for all of us! (Enjoy…you know you want to).

Just like Elle developed her unique personal brand, companies and consumers alike should be creating and cultivating a personal brand within a social media platform that coincides with their target audiences. I admit, I’m not sure what my personal brand is (or should be), but I look forward to the avenues this course will allow me to explore…and by the end of it all, hopefully I will have a more clear idea of my personal brand and hopefully a social media strategy I can one day apply in the real world.

Ta-ta for now!

listen-laugh-love

Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Instagram | Pinterest | LinkedIn

8 responses to “Once Upon A Story…

  1. jbutkevics says:

    Lacee,

    When you talked about companies conversing, connecting, and showing individual personalities to their consumers and followers it reminded me of a TED Talk that I heard a while ago and I am happy that I remembered about. It was by Simon Sinek in 2009 ( http://bit.ly/dcDsbx ) that discussed that successful brands don’t sell a product but they sell what they believe in. A reason why Apple has been so successful is because they believed that they had innovative products and sold the idea of individuality and creativity. Social media allows the possibility to communicate your ideas and beliefs and connect with your consumer, not simply engage in push marketing without listening.

    I like your approach on HR looking at hires social media accounts. My first reaction was that this is somewhat intrusive and is further reducing personal privacy. However I did not think that you can look at it as a positive as it can prove how qualified you are. Many qualified people are overlooked just because a one page resume can only say so much while a timeline can summarize your life and show your true qualities. This may also reduce the amount of fluff that can be seen on resumes, and there is a lot of over exaggeration on some resumes. Do you think that social media profiles could be used to validate what resumes state? LinkedIn endorsements may be one way to do that.

    • lutt09 says:

      Thanks for the post – I completely agree. In order to get me to believe your product or message, I need a personal or practical connection to the information you’re putting out there. I think that social media gives companies, brands, and individuals an amazing platform to connect with their consumers in a way that has never been offered before. For a company or brand to not create buy-in or relationships via social media is clearly a huge disservice to their product or message.

      I absolutely belive that companies should begin looking at social media profiles when considering new hires. Obviously, a resume is great snap shot of the accomplishments/job titles you have held in the past. However, there is nothing quite like a social media profile to gain more insight and information into how a person socializes or conducts themself in a public setting. Part of being a great employee is the social interaction side of our personalities, and a resume simply cannot offer that information.

    • helenapeace says:

      It is crazy how people get into line to no where. One of the major reasons is that they don’t want to be left out, “Oh you just saw something amazing, I want to see it too.” As social media people it’s better for us to be shepherds rather then sheep. We have to come up with engaging and quality content for the people that are looking to us. You can’t always be sharing other people ideas or work without some how adding value. I think the share button on fb is great. I use it a lot. But, when I see that George Takai has shared something I’m not going to reshare it because chances are, most of my friends have seen it. I mean come on that guy is a fb genius.

      I cringe to say I to have made a video resume. I was for a class, mind you. My teacher thought that it was the new fresh thing. I even did research on the use of video resumes in securing jobs. Sadly like most things, it only happens in the movies.

      • lutt09 says:

        It’s the funniest thing to watch – people getting into a line that you know leads to absolutely nothing. They are so wrapped up in trying to “first” for everything that they totally miss the big picture and most tend to completely lose sight of what is important (usually that is spending time with their family on vacation).

        I love the analogy of being a shepherd rather than a heard of sheep – good thinking! I also hope your video resume was as awesome as Elle’s (and included a scented pink resume)!

        Thanks for reading!

      • jbutkevics says:

        Helen,

        I like the idea of a video resume. I think it shows a bit of creativity and motivation on part of the employee. I can see how it can be weird talking to a camera but it shows your ability to talk to an employer even before meeting them.I think it is neat, I might try to include a video with one of the upcoming blog posts.

      • lutt09 says:

        I support that decision, Janis! I can’t wait to see it!

  2. Blythe says:

    Hi there, you’ve got a great personable tone to your writing, and I enjoying reading your post. The concept of having a personal brand is new to me, so I’m also curious to see how I can learn more about branding in this course. I agree with the highlights you mentioned here about having a human factor and storytelling, both of which it looks like you implemented in your blog post! I’m pretty traditional when it comes to a resume, so I’m not quite as excited about having new ways to evaluate potentials hires. It makes sense for certain fields like design or marketing.

    • lutt09 says:

      Thanks Blythe! Clearly, storytelling and the “human factor” are important to me and I’m glad that you were able to pick up on that! I’ve always been a firm believer in the “give me an interview and I’ll blow your socks off” way of thinking…while my resume is nice, it probably looks the exact same as the other 45 people applying for the same job. Where I can really show you the difference between us is in the interview, and I think that viewing my social media outlets in conjunction with my resume will allow potential employers to get a glimpse of that “human factor” I bring to an interview.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

