listen – laugh – love

A little taste of my Social Media love…

Fast Food & Fast Find – I’m Lovin’ It

on January 14, 2014

McDonaldsLogoMmmmh! I can taste them now…those salty and deliciously greasy French fries you can only find under the golden arches of McDonald’s! Coupled with a Coca-Cola that tastes better than any other fountain Coca-Cola on planet and this girl is in one unhealthy Heaven!

Started in 1940, McDonald’s Bar-B-Q was just your typical drive-in with a big menu and roller-skating waitresses. Fast forward to present day and McDonald’s has “more than 34,000 local restaurants serving approximately 69 million people in 118 countries each day.”

Clearly McDonald’s is a huge brand with presence all over the globe – so surely they will have great search engine rank, right? I brainstormed a list of ten key words/phrases that I thought represented the McDonald’s brand and then I Googled them to see how the company stacked up.

Take a look at my results:

  1. Fast Food Restaurant
    • Over 350 million results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the fourth option on page two
  2. Fast Food
    • Over one billion results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the sixth option on page one
  3. Hamburger
    • Over five million results
    • McDonald’s website did not appear in the first 15 pages of the search
  4. French Fries
    • Over 29 million results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the third option on page five
      • A photo of their French fries appears at the top of page one
  5. I’m Lovin’ It
    • Over 59 million results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the sixth option on page one
      • Photos of their logo appear at the top of the search page
      • A YouTube video of the jingle appears right after the photos
  6. Golden Arches
    • Over six million results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the seventh option on page one
      • Photos of their logo appear at the top of the search page
  7. Dollar Menu
    • Over 91 million results
      • McDonald’s website appears as the first option on page one
        • Appears again right under the “News for dollar menu” section
  8. Quick Service Restaurant
    • Over 200 million results
    • McDonald’s website did not appear in the first 15 pages of the search
  9. Happy Meal
    • Over 120 million results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the third option on page one
      • There is an actual website for the happy meal (happymeal.com) that appears as the first option on page one
  10. Chicken Sandwich
    • Over 52 million results
    • McDonald’s website appears as the third option on page four

While the brand appeared relatively quickly in a great deal of my keyword searches, I found it more interesting that those keywords didn’t always appear in their webpage coding. Granted, I know very little about the art of web coding; however, I would have assumed that these words would have appeared much more frequently than they really did.

Here is what I found when I took a look at McDonald’s webpage coding:

McDonaldsData

  1. Fast Food Restaurant
    • Does not appear in website homepage coding
  2. Fast Food
    • Does not appear in website homepage coding
  3. Hamburger
    • Appears one time in the meta keywords on the homepage
      • The word burger appears 30 times in the homepage coding
  4. French Fries
    • Does not appear in website coding
      • Fries and fry appear once in the meta keywords on the homepage
  5. I’m Lovin’ It
    • Does not appear in website homepage coding
  6. Golden Arches
    • Does not appear in website homepage coding
  7. Dollar Menu
    • Appears twice in the homepage coding – once in the meta keywords and once in the body of the Meal Bundles section
  8. Quick Service Restaurant
    • Does not appear in website homepage coding
  9. Happy Meal
    • Appears twice in the meta keywords (once as plural) and once in the body of the Meal Bundles sections
  10. Chicken Sandwich
    • Does not appear in website homepage coding
      • The word chicken appears 36 times in the homepage coding and the word sandwiches appears three times

In general, McDonald’s does include a great deal of keywords in their coding – just not the keywords that my mind thought of! Since McDonald’s is such a large and well-known brand, they probably don’t feel that it’s overly important to concentrate on doing a great deal of research on keywords and phrases to include in their webpage coding. Whether that’s a good approach, I’m not sure – but it doesn’t seem to be hurtning them all that much!

Ta-ta for now!

listen-laugh-love

Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Instagram | Pinterest | LinkedIn

9 responses to “Fast Food & Fast Find – I’m Lovin’ It

  1. Jason Belo says:

    Hey Lacee.

    Mickey D’s has built such a strong brand that they don’t need to be heavily concerned with a plethora of keywords. They are known by some countries as the American Embassy. :0) That can’t be good. It does go to show that McDonald’s has created its own formula for success through strong branding strategy, and franchising. Ray Kroc knew how to build a business, and that foundation has launched McDonald’s into an MNC.

    • lutt09 says:

      Hi Jason!

      Thanks for reading! McDonald’s definitely doesn’t need to concentrate on those small marketing techniques that locally owned business do – however, I think that it could still prove worth while for these large and well-known brands to still put some effort into things like keywords in their webpage data. And yes, it’s scary to think that McDonald’s is compared to the likes of the American Embassy around the world – however, they have been getting better and offering healthier options over the past few years! 🙂

  2. Hi Lacee,
    I really found the keywords that you looked up to be common sense in my mind, so I was shocked with your results! I can’t believe that “angus” & “third pounders” made it into their keywords but “Golden Arches” doesn’t! While you are right and they probably aren’t missing a ton of business, I think we all know that having a great online presence is a must and clearly McDonalds can use some help with their SEO. Great post!

    • lutt09 says:

      Hi Amanda!

      Thanks for reading! I thought my keywords were awesome – granted, I might be a little biased. But, yes, I was a little shocked that words like Golden Arches were not included in their website coding as well. Sure they are a huge multi-national company and are arguably one of the most recognized logos world wide – but really? I suppose that, until their business starts hurting, they won’t be refocusing their online efforts any time soon.

  3. migshields says:

    I feel like you and I are in the same boat for this assignment. I used Budweiser and many of the things that they were known for did not come up in the SEO. I think that maybe McDonalds knows that they are probably the most recognizable company on the planet. I think I read somewhere that the golden arches were more recognizable than the holy cross. It’s hard to believe that “Fast Food” has such a low SEO.

    • lutt09 says:

      Hi Mike!

      Thanks for reading! I could easily see how the golden arches would be more recognizable than something like the Holy Cross – they are huge multi-national company and have obviously done a great deal of marketing to get themselves into that position. It’s just odd to me that something as easy as Golden Arches doesn’t appear in their website coding – it’s clearly not a big enough concern for them to correct though! I did find it funny that when I searched Quick Service Restaurant, the majority of the results centered about Walt Disney World and our Disney Dining Plan (even though I made sure my search was focusing on the entire US and not just Florida). Those words are normal to me, but I suppose to most other people they don’t have much of a meaning!

  4. Interesting post and good keyword picks, Lacee! I tend to agree with Jason, though. McDonald’s is such a giant that they probably don’t need a whole lot of help from Google to sell cheeseburgers. However, a large company like McDonald’s might want to pay attention to SEO for other reasons, like not looking digitally incompetent or making sure that some scandal or something down the road doesn’t easily outrank them.

    The first thing I think of when it comes to McDonald’s is their fries (and now I’m hungry), but I think the only McDonald’s thing I think I’ve ever searched for is nutrition facts. And a search for “McDonald’s nutrition facts” yields results from mcdonalds.com for the first three (not including the McDonald’s ad). A related thought: Perhaps McDonald’s should target the phrase “fast food nutrition facts.” The health conscious searching for their fastest, healthiest options might search for a term like that. For this search, Wendy’s actually has an ad that reads “Health conscious? – wendys.com” and Subway has an ad at the bottom. The organic results are all informational and do not include any restaurants’ sites, but I thought Wendy’s ad was especially clever. They’re really thinking about the type of person who would be searching for that phrase to find the best fast food option.

    • lutt09 says:

      Hi Julie!

      Thanks for reading! Yes, I think we can all safely say that larger and more well-known companies and brands clearly do not pay that much attention to their SEO – let alone ways to improve their SEO standings. However, I think it should still be something that they have on their radar somewhere in their marketing process.

      Interesting thought searching for fast food nutrition facts – I suppose I have searched for something similar at some point in my life! It’s been a huge change over the past several years that McDonald’s (and most other fast food chains) are attempting to move towards healthier options – or at the very least, offer more healthy items in addition to their main menu. It certainly couldn’t hurt to try to capitalize on those folks that are craving information about healthy options at a fast food establishment.

  5. Your results relating to McDonald’s are almost as amazing to me as mine relating to Coca-Cola. I didn’t find a single link to Coca-Cola related anything until my seventh keyword. Seventh! To find the biggest soft drink manufacturer in the world. I did intentionally leave out “Coke” just because it was too obvious, and of course, it brought me to a mountain of Coca-Cola official sites and fan sites.

    In SEO researching Coke I think you and I found the same thing happening. Our chosen companies did not use SEO as part of their marketing scheme, or used it in only a small way. I think they are more relying on brand recognition and the massive fame they have on the world stage to have people search them by name, rather than by related key words. But having things McDonald’s has copy written, such as “Golden Arches” and “Happy Meal” not appear as the top links in those searches is pretty astounding. My mental SEO brings up Mickey D’s instantly if those are mentioned. I guess my keywording is a little different.

Leave a Reply

