listen – laugh – love

A little taste of my Social Media love…

Better Ingredients, Better Pizza…Better App?

on February 19, 2014

Papa Johns claims to have better ingredients and better pizza, but do they have a better app than their competitors? I was previously the proud owner of the Pizza Hut app (this girl loves her some pizza) – sadly, it was deleted in my last removal frenzy to prepare for the recent iOS update. I was a fan of the Pizza Hut app, but it wasn’t as easy to use as I was hoping – let’s see if the Papa Johns app can step up and over throw Pizza Hut’s reign in my world, shall we?

The beginning was quite easy – I searched for Papa Johns in my app store and downloaded their free app.

Home Screen

After everything was installed, I clicked on the app and was asked the typical push notification question that a vast majority of apps now ask. Of course, I selected OK! Next, I needed to set up an account with Papa Johns and I was able to do this right there in the app! It was very user friendly and nothing was distorted or needed “pinching” or “stretching.”

Push and Sign in

Once I created an account and entered my address, I was able to use my phone’s GPS features to locate the nearest Papa Johns locations! As you can see below – addresses, phone numbers, store hours, delivery/carryout options and maps for each location appear in order of closeness.

GPA

I finally selected the closest location that would deliver and got started creating my order. It was super easy and there’s even a “view deals” section that allows you to check out their daily specials and offers! If one of their deals doesn’t strike you, there is an option to build your order from the ground up! Once you’ve completed your order, the checkout process is super simple and quick. You can save your credit card information for future purchases as well. After all is said and done, you can save your order as a “fave” and order with just a few taps next time!

Group

Finally, they offer something calls Papa Rewards. Basically, once you enroll in the program, you receive points each time you order a Papa Johns’ pizza online. The more orders you place, the more rewards that you earn! Once you’ve received 25 points, you get a FREE PIZZA!

Awards

In my humble opinion, the Papa Johns app is spot on! Installing the app, creating an account and placing my order were all super easy and very user friendly! While there is no option to leave a review, I’m not so sure there’s really a need for this feature. Papa Johns is a well-known product and if you haven’t experienced the product, a close friend probably has!

Questions to Ponder

  • Have you ever used the Papa John app? If so, how was your experience? If not, have you ever used any type of app to order a pizza and how did it go?
  • Is there anything missing from this app that would have liked to see? Why?

Ta-ta for now!

listen-laugh-love

Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Instagram | Pinterest | LinkedIn

16 responses to “Better Ingredients, Better Pizza…Better App?

  1. Hey Lacee!

    I’m a big pizza lover as well! I’ve been so bummed that the only great pizza place I’ve found since moving to Jacksonville is Mellow Mushroom, which is a little pricier than the average pizza chain. Anyways, I love the idea of having an app to order pizza. I hate, hate, HATE calling people on the phone, so this is a great way to avoid doing that! Also, I really like that the app offers an incentive every time you purchase a pizza online. It keeps consumers coming back. After your review I’m definitely going to look into the Papa Johns app!

    • Hi Lauren!

      Thanks for reading! I am right there with you – I love the Domino’s commercial where the pizza guy is trying to talk to the woman on the phone and it’s failing miserably! I feel like that would happen every single time I tried to order pizza! I really liked Papa Johns’ rewards feature too – that is something that Pizza Hut did not offer when I had their app! It’s definitely a great way to keep people coming back for more deliciousness!

    • Hi Lauren,
      I’m not sure if Papa John’s on University Boulevard delivers to you, but my mom is the manager there. Just ask for Sue, tell her you’re a classmate of mine and she’ll take good care of you!

  2. Jason Belo says:

    Hello Lacee.

    You’re blog post was phenomenal this week. 😉

    I exclusively use the Papa John’s app to order, and I choose Papa John’s every time I order pizza because, they allow me to customize my pizza, order in advance, and they reward me with free pizza every time I reach the 25 point threshold. How cool is that? 🙂

    The Papa John’s app works seamlessly on my beautiful, white, iPhone bursting at the seams with apps 😉

    I don’t have any complaints. Keep on keeping on Papa!

    • Hi Jason!

      Thanks for reading! I’m glad to hear that you love your Papa John’s app! I honestly didn’t know that it existed until this week – granted, I wasn’t exactly shocked when I did find it. I think their rewards system is awesome – what a great way to reward your customers and keep them coming back for more! It’s like the thrill of the chase – you want to keep up with the challenge and reach the “goal” of a free pizza!

  3. darleenr says:

    Papa John’s does such a great job with their commercials it’ no surprise that their app also is top notch. Papa Johns in not not big….yet….In New York or New Jersey, at least none that I have seen. So I imagine for me, the pizza would be cold before it arrived at my home. Also there is something that seems so “real” about the Papa Johns spokesperson-owner. You expect to get exactly what Papa John’ is selling either on-line, on the phone, or in the store. Where is a Papa Johns store in NY/NJ? Hey wait, I can use the app to find the closest location. Thanks

    • Hi Darleen!

      Thanks for reading! I agree – Papa John’s has really stepped up with ad campaigns in the last few years. With the addition of Peyton Manning has a spokesman, they are opening themselves up to so many different people! I was talking with a friend from Boston and he was telling me how there are no Papa John’s locations around him – give it time, I think they are definitely on the upswing!

  4. We competed this week! I did Domino’s 🙂 I wonder if the apps were created by the same developer because they’re basically the same. The only big difference is that Papa John’s has the rewards program, which I don’t think Domino’s does. Truth be told, I haven’t used an app to place an order yet. I may still be worried that the store wouldn’t receive my order if it came off my phone.
    The part about Domino’s I liked so much was that it allowed for a lot of customization of an order. Did PJ’s have that? Like with how much cheese, toppings, crispness of crust, etc.?

    • Hi Lexi!

      Thanks for reading! We clearly love our pizza makers! Yes, Papa John’s app does allow you to create a pizza from the bottom up – you have to log in to your account and then choose a location to order from before you can begin building any of your orders. I do agree that the “track your order” option on the Domino’s app is pretty neat – I would say that’s an area that Papa John’s could explore to become even more epic!

  5. Hey Lacee,
    I was curious to read your review because my mom is a manager at Papa John’s. Lucky for me I don’t have to worry about ordering (online, calling in or on an app) since my mama takes care of my pizza needs, but I’m glad to see that the ordering process is intuitive on the app. Papa John’s has always seemed to be ahead of the game when it comes to online orders. They always offer lots of great email deals and have lots of great promotions during football season. The only complaint I have had with them in the past is their website. You can’t just look at the menu — you have to give your location. I guess this is because pricing and items can vary from locale to locale, but it would be nice to see a generic menu.

    • Hi Amanda!

      Thanks for reading! What a great perk – I eat enough pizza as it is, I can only imagine what my life would be like if I was in your shoes! I loved our quick, simple and seamless the entire process was – from download to order, everything was easy and efficient! I did find the same thing with the app that you mentioned about the website – if you want to create any type of order, you must first log in to your account and choose a location. Be sure to let your mom how awesome the app is! 🙂

  6. lexaubrey says:

    I must admit, my only problem with the Papa John’s app is how easy and convenient it makes it for me to resort to pizza when I am not in the mood to cook (which is often). I personally appreciate a few more hurdles between myself and junk food, it helps me determine my commitment to the extra calorie intake.

    I have also used the Pizza Hut app, and I agree it was not quite as seamless and user friendly as the Papa John’s one. One thing that I liked about the Pizza Hut app that I don’t recall seeing from Papa John’s was the “status meter” that let you know what stage you order was in. How accurate that meter was is anyone’s guess, I think I just liked the idea of knowing what was going on and when to expect the doorbell.

    • Hi Lex!

      Thanks for reading! I agree! It’s so simple and efficient that it doesn’t give you time to second guess your decision to order 497394 calories in one box! The Pizza Hut app was definitely not as easy or user friendly – it takes a bit longer for it to load your options and just doesn’t look as “pretty.” The Papa John’s app didn’t have a status meter (to my knowledge), but I think it could benefit from one! It would just make their app THAT much cooler!

  7. Cyndi says:

    Hi Lacee,
    I loved your post this week! I love pizza, but I’m usually a call and order kind of girl, but after reading your post, I’m really thinking of downloading this app for my next pizza night. I like how you can create your own pizza nice and easy. It’s awesome how you can rack up points every time you order a pizza you get a free one after 25 points, I think its a great incentive and lots of pizza!! I’m definitely looking forward to using it this week and give it try!! 🙂

    • Hi Cyndi!

      Thanks for reading! I love pizza too! I’m so glad I could encourage you to go online rather than picking up the phone – I couldn’t tell you the last time I order a pizza from a phone call! Their rewards system is great! It’s such a great way to create a buzz, reward their customers and keep them coming back for more!

Leave a Reply

