listen – laugh – love

A little taste of my Social Media love…

Finding Your Human Voice

on June 5, 2014

When we send out a Tweet to a brand or company, I think we are all hoping for some type of response or recognition – right?! I know I certainly am! Gaining recognition and answers to our questions via social media gives us an instant gratification that is incomparable to much else. In this week’s lecture, we discussed a bit about the social media strategy of Royal Dutch Airlines (KLM) and about finding your “human voice” via your social profiles.

Coincidently (or maybe not) KLM does an incredible job of interacting with their costumers/followers and putting their “human voice” to good use! When you visit the KLM Twitter page, you will find the banner below explaining the time it will take for you to get an official response from their team.

KLM Banner

You will also find the following company bio/promise to their customers/followers:

KLM Bio

Stating that their team is available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week is quite a big deal! The best part, KLM seems to be living up to their promise and providing incredible information to their followers! KLM has clearly found their “human voice” and is continuously putting it to work by engaging and conversing with their customers in ways that few other companies do.

KLM is honest in stating that conversing with customers in such an open way is not all flowers and bunnies – they are aware that an open dialogue invites a great deal of public criticism that requires quick  and transparent responses.

Learning how to take negative interactions and turn them positive is key to social success. It’s not always easy either – Virgin Trains saw this first hand when they tweeted about a storm in the UK. Using all capital letters and abrupt language, the interactions they received were far from positive! If more and more companies would adopt KLM’s way of thinking and operating, customer/brand relationships and communication would surely strengthen across the board!

Unfortunately, I am not in a place to find my “human voice” and use it professionally like the folks at KLM. However, when conversing and interacting with my followers/friends via social, I keep my tone conversational and realistic. Most notably, through blogs like this, I am able to share what I have learned in a way that reflects my personality and personal “human voice” in an educational and entertaining way. Hopefully, in the near future, I will be able to put my knowledge to use in a more “professional” way and help a brand/company find and utilize their “human voice” to build and sustain customer relationships.

Until then, I will continue being myself and sharing the adventures of life through my own social profiles!

Ta-ta for now!

listen-laugh-love

Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Instagram | Pinterest | LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

